“KEEP COOL” – using CFD simulation to improve thermal management of devices

Dario Denzler, Mechanical Engineer
Reading time: 5 min

Insight in Brief

In order to obtain a robust, safe, durable and high-performance device, thermal management is a key aspect in the development of any electronic product. This article deals with the following topics:

  • Importance of thermal management in product design
  • Application of computational fluid dynamics (CFD) in concept phases
  • Verification of numerical simulations with experimental measurements
  • Potential and limitations of using numerical simulations in the early product development stage

Introduction

”Keep cool“ is not only important in the hot summer months or during crucial project phases. Did you know that the life expectancy of electronic components (i.e. semiconductors) is highly dependent on operating temperature?

With an increase of ten degrees, life expectancy is halved (logarithmic relationship) and the overall performance decreases drastically. Moreover, overheating can lead to fire, resulting in catastrophic failure modes and needs to be considered in order to comply with regulatory standards. Therefore, thermal management is a key aspect in the development of any electronic product in order to obtain a robust, safe, durable and high-performance device.

At IMT, state-of-the-art simulation tools are used to address such requirements at a very early stage of the development phase to achieve an optimal product layout and design. However, not only are colorful marketing pictures produced…we also challenge the computational models and verify them with experimental measurements.

Problem

Within the project concept phase, IMT was commissioned to investigate possible options to increase the cooling efficiency of a product. The need for this optimization arose from direct market feedback, as long-term observations showed that the devices should be more robust in terms of thermal management.

Restrictions were imposed by the connector layout for proper use and the resulting internal wiring. Another important consideration was the maintenance requirements. Every component of the device should be easily accessible and exchangeable.

Due to the tight schedule, multiple iterations on prototypes were not an option.

Method

Computational fluid dynamics (CFD) is a branch of fluid mechanics that uses numerical analysis and data structures to analyze and solve problems that involve fluid flows.[1] Using this method, product designs can be investigated in terms of their aerodynamic behavior including thermal effects, without the need for physical prototypes. Thus, design changes and their impacts can be studied in a very early development phase.

Numerical Model

After some research on enclosure layout, a basic concept for the device was worked out taking into account the restrictions imposed (i.e. PCB layouts, cable length, etc.). A numerical model to perform CFD simulations was setup in the Solidworks® flow simulation software to obtain a high-performance prototype at the first attempt. This is intended to save time and costs and the only way to comply with the schedule laid down. For efficient iterations, the concept of the enclosure was abstracted in a block model approach in order to be able to analyze the device on the system level (Figure 1).

ID

Name

1

Outer case
2

Inner case

3

Device-specific unit (A)
4

Device-specific unit (B)

5

Mainboard

6

Power supply
7

Power board

8

Display board

9

Battery
10

Fan

Figure 1: Block model of concept device

The idea is to increase cooling efficiency for critical components by separating and guiding the airflow at the inlet of the main unit into a primary (blue) and secondary (orange) stream (Figure 2). This allows better tuning of the spatial distribution of the mass flow. Additionally, fresh inlet air can be directly guided to critical areas with high power dissipation to benefit from a higher temperature gradient.

The concept of the enclosure design splits the device into two sections by a “false bottom”, where the fan is located. The mass flow distribution inside the upper part can be adjusted by changing the position and size of the opening at the inlet and outlet of the main device respectively.

Components with higher heat loss such as the power board and power supply are encapsulated and located in the upper part. This not only allows more control over heat accumulation, but also supports electrical insulation to comply with standards such as EN 60601-1, EN 61010-1, IEC62368-1 etc. Additionally, the component orientation and outlet position are optimized to take full advantage of natural convection leading to a well-formed flow over the mainboard.

Figure 2: Intended airflow separation / guidance

Pre-Studies

The fan was implemented on the basis of a mathematical description to reduce the required calculation time. Therefore, the fan curve, provided by the manufacturer, was implemented by means of a lookup table. The implementation and mesh dependency was investigated in a preliminary study (Figure 3).

Figure 3: Mathematical model of fan

In order to obtain meaningful results from the simulation, a Mesh Sensitivity Study (MSS) was performed to determine the required spatial discretization of the numerical model. Particularly for thermal loads, such studies are essential in order to achieve the required resolution for the boundary layer where the heat transfer takes place (Figure 4).

Mesh 1

Mesh 2

Global mesh [-] 3 Global mesh [-] 5
Local mesh [-] 0 Local mesh [-] 3
Cell count [n] 11,244 Cell count [n] 72,294

Mesh 3

Mesh 4

Global mesh [-] 6 Global mesh [-] 7
Local mesh [-] 5 Local mesh [-] 6
Cell count [n] 288,664 Cell count [n] 671,192
Figure 4: Mesh sensitivity study (MSS) on convection

The correct definition of the thermal loads turned out to be the crux of the model. Generally, the heat loss can be approximated by the power dissipation.

For distinct hot spots such as integrated circuits (IC), the calculation is straightforward as long as the required data is available. However, for extended heat sources, such as the power board in this case, another solution had to be found. Using a reverse engineering approach, the block model of the PCB was calibrated. Using thermal imaging, the steady-state temperature during operation in a free convection setup was measured (Figure 5).

PB power block

PB charger block

Figure 5: Thermal imaging of the power board

The resulting temperature could be used in a corresponding CFD simulation as the boundary condition to determine heat flux, which could then be used in the block model of the device (Figure 6).

Figure 6: CFD model of the powerboard

With these pre-studies, the physical phenomena involved were investigated and their implementation in the simulation verified. Now the block model of the device could be set up.

 

Results

Simulation

First, the initial layout was analyzed in order to understand if the intended principal of airflow separation works and to identify problematic locations.

Front

Left

Back

Figure 7: Airflow for the initial design

According to the simulation, the general idea has proven successful (Figure 7). However, detailed investigation revealed a problematic vortex that needed to be resolved. Additionally, a support plate had to be included to increase structural stability. Within hours, the design change was simulated and the effect could be assessed. The integrated support plate leads to an improvement of the vortex and overall heat discharge (Figure 8).

Initial design

Optimized design

Figure 8: Critical vortices leading to heat accumulation

Compared to the “free convection” measurements, the ventilation of the enclosure was shown to work efficiently with both designs and lead to a significant reduction of the temperature of electrical components at the different probe locations (Figure 9).

Figure 9: Comparison of overall performance

Satisfied with the results predicted by simulation, the prototype could be released.

Experimental

At IMT, we not only put trust in our tools, we question them and our work, always striving for evidence rather than belief. Once the prototype was assembled, it was fitted with thermocouples at probe locations from the numerical model and put through a stress test (Figure 10).

MB SSD

MB CFB

UI Stepper Drive

PB Charger block DB Valens

DV Outlet

Figure 10: Prototype fitted with thermocouples

The simulation results were compared with the experimental measurements showing a discrepancy of around 15 – 25% (Figure 11). This sounds like a lot, but given the high level of abstraction, the results met the expectations.

Figure 11: Verification of simulation

During development, it was noticed that the concept device would allow the implementation of a larger fan, which could further optimize thermal management. Without further ado, the prototype was adapted to examine the effect of a larger fan. Since the fan control is designed to operate the fan in low and high RPM mode, this parameter was investigated as well (Figure 12).

Figure 12: Concept device with small and large fan

Most important was the comparison with the current device, which was used as benchmark. Comparing the internal sensors, which are equivalent in both devices, a tremendous temperature reduction could be achieved for all sensor positions (Figure 13).

Interestingly, the concept device with large fan achieves a performance equivalent to the configuration with small fan operating in high RPM mode. This is essential for customers regarding noise emission, as the large fan option was shown to be even more quiet, while providing a margin for extreme conditions.

Figure 13: Comparison between concept device and benchmark

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computational_fluid_dynamics

Summary

Simulations allow product designs to be investigated in a very early development phase and reduce the need for prototyping. Additionally, physical effects can be visualized, which could not be detected or only with great effort using experimental methods.

This leads to very high efficiency in the development of new products or identification of weaknesses in existing designs, while reducing valuable resources such as time and money. Moreover, it facilitates communication between different departments or stakeholders to better understand requirements. This simplifies decision-making in crucial questions…true to the motto: “Keep cool”!

Are you interested in reading further articles?

Leave your e-mail address here and we will inform you as soon as we publish new contributions.

This might also interest you

Outsourcing
Reading time: 3 min.

Ensuring successful outsourced engineering projects

How do you ensure success of your outsourced engineering project from the start?
Usability study for medical devices
Reading time: 3 min.

Usability study for medical devices

Preventing safety related use-errors or harm to the user using usability studies.
Event-based
Reading time: 4 min.

Why event-based software architecture?

This article explains the event-based software architecture, its advantages, & possible disadvantages for the development...
Expert Blog Architekturprozess
Reading time: 4 min.

The systematic creation of a system and software architecture

This article deals with the development of a good system architecture...
IMT_AdditiveFertigung_Blog
Reading time: 5 min.

Additive manufacturing - reliable enough for medical technology?

For a customer's device, a dynamically rotating system was developed within a short period of time...
knowwhatyoudonwknow_cover
Reading time: 4 min.

Know what you don't know

Typical classification algorithms assign a class to every sample, even though that sample may be far off...

«KEEP COOL» – Einsatz der CFD-Simulation zur Verbesserung des Wärmemanagements bei Entwicklung von Geräten

Dario Denzler, Mechanical Engineer
Lesedauer: 5 min.

Insight in Brief

Bei der Entwicklung von elektronischen Produkten spielt das Wärmemanagement im Hinblick auf die Robustheit, Sicherheit, Langlebigkeit und Leistungsfähigkeit eine Schlüsselrolle. Dieser Artikel befasst sich mit den folgenden Themen:

  • Bedeutung des Wärmemanagements beim Produktentwurf
  • Anwendung der numerischen Strömungsmechanik (CFD) in den Konzeptphasen
  • Verifizierung numerischer Simulationen mithilfe experimenteller Messungen
  • Möglichkeiten und Grenzen des Einsatzes numerischer Simulationen in frühen Produktentwicklungsphasen

Einleitung

«Keep cool» ist nicht nur in den heissen Sommermonaten oder während kritischer Projektphasen wichtig. Wussten Sie, dass die Lebensdauer elektronischer Bauteile (z. B. Halbleitern) in hohem Masse von der Betriebstemperatur abhängt?

Eine Erhöhung der Temperatur um zehn Grad halbiert die Lebenserwartung elektronischer Bauteile (logarithmisches Verhältnis) und reduziert die Gesamtleistung drastisch. Darüber hinaus kann eine Überhitzung zu Bränden führen, was katastrophale Fehlfunktionen zur Folge haben könnte und bei der Erfüllung gesetzlicher Normen berücksichtigt werden muss. Aus diesem Grund ist Wärmemanagement ein wichtiger Aspekt bei der Entwicklung elektronischer Produkte, um ein robustes, sicheres, langlebiges und leistungsstarkes Gerät zu erhalten.

Bei IMT werden modernste Simulationstools eingesetzt, um solche Anforderungen bereits in einem sehr frühen Stadium der Entwicklungsphase zu berücksichtigen und somit einen optimalen Aufbau und Entwurf des Produkts sicherzustellen. Es werden jedoch nicht nur bunte Marketingbilder produziert. Wir hinterfragen auch die Berechnungsmodelle und verifizieren sie mit experimentellen Messungen.

Problemstellung

IMT wurde innerhalb der Produktkonzeptionsphase mit der Untersuchung möglicher Optionen zur Steigerung der Kühleffizienz eines Produkts beauftragt. Dieser Optimierungsbedarf hat sich aus dem direkten Marktfeedback ergeben, da Langzeitbeobachtungen robustere Geräte im Hinblick auf das Wärmemanagement nahelegten.

Einschränkungen ergaben sich aus der Anordnung der Steckverbinder und der daraus resultierenden Innenverdrahtung. Des Weiteren galt es, die Wartungsanforderungen zu beachten. Jedes Bauteil des Geräts sollte leicht zugänglich und austauschbar sein.

Aufgrund des engen Zeitplans waren mehrere Iterationen an Prototypen keine Option.

Methode

Die numerische Strömungsmechanik (Computational Fluid Dynamics, CFD) ist ein Teilgebiet in welchem Strömungsmechanik,  numerische Analysen und Datenstrukturen zur Analyse und Lösung von Strömungsproblemen einsetzt werden.[1] Mit dieser Methode können Produktentwürfe auf ihr aerodynamisches Verhalten einschliesslich der thermischen Auswirkungen untersucht werden, ohne dass hierzu physische Prototypen erforderlich sind. So können Änderungen des Produktentwurfs und deren Auswirkungen bereits in einer sehr frühen Entwicklungsphase untersucht werden.

Numerisches Modell

Nach einigen Recherchen zum Aufbau des Gehäuses wurde ein Grundkonzept für das Gerät unter Berücksichtigung der vorgegebenen Beschränkungen (d. h. Leiterplattenlayouts, Kabellänge usw.) ausgearbeitet. Es wurde ein numerisches Modell zur Durchführung von CFD-Simulationen in der Strömungssimulationssoftware Solidworks® Flow Simulation erstellt, um auf Anhieb einen leistungsfähigen Prototyp zu erhalten. Dies dient der Zeit- und Kostenersparnis und stellte die einzige Möglichkeit dar, den vorgegebenen Zeitplan einzuhalten. Im Sinne effizienter Iterationen wurde das Konzept des Gehäuses in einem Blockmodellansatz abstrahiert, um das Gerät auf der Systemebene analysieren zu können. (Abbildung 1)

 

 

 

ID

Bezeichnung

1

Aussengehäuse
2

Innengehäuse

3

Gerätespezifische Einheit (A)
4

Gerätespezifische Einheit (B)

5

Mainboard

6

Netzteil
7

Netzplatine

8

Anzeigeplatine

9

Akku
10

Lüfter

Abbildung 1: Blockmodell des konzipierten Geräts

Hinter dem Konzept steht die Idee, die Kühleffizienz für kritische Bauteile zu erhöhen, indem der Luftstrom am Eingang des Hauptgeräts geteilt und als Haupt- (blau) und Nebenstrom (orange) weitergeleitet wird (Abbildung 2). Dies ermöglicht eine bessere Abstimmung der räumlichen Verteilung des Massenflusses. Zudem kann frische Zuluft direkt zu kritischen Bereichen mit hoher Verlustleistung geleitet werden, um von einem höheren Temperaturgradienten zu profitieren.

Die Auslegung des Gehäuses sieht einen «doppelten Boden» vor, der das Gerät dort, wo sich der Lüfter befindet, in zwei Teile teilt. Die Verteilung des Massenflusses im oberen Teil kann durch Änderung der Position und Grösse der Eingangs- bzw. Ausgangsöffnung des  Innengehäuses reguliert werden.

Bauteile mit höherem Wärmeverlust, wie die Netzplatine und das Netzteil, sind eingekapselt und im oberen Teil verbaut. Dies gestattet nicht nur eine bessere Kontrolle des Wärmestaus, sondern trägt auch zur elektrischen Isolierung bei, wodurch Normen wie EN 60601-1, EN 61010-1, IEC62368-1 usw. erfüllt werden. Des Weiteren sind die Ausrichtung der Bauteile und die Position des Ausgangs für die vollständige Ausnutzung der natürlichen Konvektion optimiert, was zu einer gut ausgeformten Strömung über dem Mainboard führt.

 

 

Abbildung 2: Beabsichtigte Trennung/Führung des Luftstroms

Vorstudien

Der Lüfter wurde auf der Grundlage einer mathematischen Beschreibung implementiert, um die benötigte Rechenzeit zu reduzieren. Aus diesem Grund wurde die vom Hersteller zur Verfügung gestellte Lüfterkurve in Form einer Nachschlagetabelle implementiert. In einer Vorstudie wurden die Implementierung und die Netzabhängigkeit untersucht. (Abbildung 3)

 

Figure 3: Mathematical model of fan

Um aussagekräftige Ergebnisse aus der Simulation zu erhalten, wurde eine Netzempfindlichkeitsstudie (Mesh Sensitivity Study – MSS) durchgeführt, um die erforderliche räumliche Diskretisierung des numerischen Modells zu bestimmen. Insbesondere bei thermischen Lasten sind solche Untersuchungen unerlässlich, um die erforderliche Auflösung für die Grenzschicht, in welcher die Wärmeübertragung stattfindet, zu ermitteln. (Abbildung 4)

 

 

 

 

Netz 1

Netz 2

Globales Netz [-] 3 Globales Netz [-] 5
Lokales Netz [-] 0 Lokales Netz [-] 3
Zellzahl [n] 11,244 Zellzahl [n] 72,294

Netz 3

Netz 4

Globales Netz [-] 6 Globales Netz [-] 7
Lokales Netz [-] 5 Lokales Netz [-] 6
Zellzahl [n] 288,664 Zellzahl [n] 671,192
Abbildung 4: Netzempfindlichkeitsstudie (MSS) zur Konvektion

Die korrekte Definition der thermischen Lasten stellte sich als Kernpunkt bei diesem Modell heraus. In der Regel kann der Wärmeverlust durch die Verlustleistung approximiert werden.

Für bestimmte punktuell heisse Bereiche wie z. B. integrierte Schaltkreise (IC) erweist sich die Berechnung als einfach, sofern die erforderlichen Daten verfügbar sind. Für grossflächigere Wärmequellen, wie in diesem Fall die Netzplatine, musste jedoch eine andere Lösung gefunden werden. Mit Hilfe eines Reverse-Engineering-Ansatzes wurde das Blockmodell der Leiterplatte kalibriert. Durch Anwendung der Wärmebildtechnik wurde die Beharrungstemperatur während des Betriebs in einem Aufbau mit freier Konvektion gemessen. (Abbildung 5)

PB Netzteil

PB Ladeteil

Abbildung 5: Wärmebild der Netzplatine

Die resultierende Temperatur konnte in einer korrespondierenden CFD-Simulation als Randbedingung zur Bestimmung des Wärmestroms verwendet werden, welche dann in das Blockmodell des Geräts einfliessen konnte. (Abbildung 6)

Abbildung 6: CFD-Modell der Netzplatine

Anhand dieser Vorstudien wurden die betreffenden physikalischen Phänomene untersucht und ihre Implementierung in der Simulation verifiziert. Das Blockmodell des Geräts konnte schliesslich erstellt werden.

 

Ergebnis

Simulation

Zunächst wurde das ursprüngliche Layout analysiert, um zu prüfen, ob das beabsichtigte Prinzip der Luftstromtrennung funktioniert und um problematische Bereiche zu identifizieren.

Frontseite

Linke Seite

Rückseite

Abbildung 7: Luftstrom im ursprünglichen Entwurf

According to the simulation, the general idea has proven successful (Figure 7). However, detailed investigation revealed a problematic vortex that needed to be resolved. Additionally, a support plate had to be included to increase structural stability. Within hours, the design change was simulated and the effect could be assessed. The integrated support plate leads to an improvement of the vortex and overall heat discharge (Figure 8).

Ursprünglicher Entwurf

Optimierter Entwurf

Abbildung 8: Kritische Wirbel verursachen Wärmestau

Der Vergleich mit den Messungen bei «freier Konvektion» ergab, dass die Belüftung des Gehäuses für beide Entwürfe effizient funktioniert und zu einer deutlichen Senkung der Temperatur der elektrischen Bauteile an den verschiedenen Messpunkten führt. (Abbildung 9)

Abbildung 9: Vergleich der Gesamtleistung

Da die durch die Simulation vorhergesagten Ergebnissen zufriedenstellend waren, konnte der Prototyp freigegeben werden.

Experimentelle Messungen

Wir bei IMT verlassen uns nicht einfach auf unsere Tools. Vielmehr überprüfen wir sie ebenso wie unsere Arbeit und suchen stets nach Beweisen, ohne uns dabei auf Vermutungen zu stützen. Nach der Montage des Prototyps wurde dieser mit Thermoelementen an den Messpunkten des numerischen Modells versehen und einem Belastungstest unterzogen. (Abbildung 10)

MB SSD

MB CFB

UI Schrittmotor

PB Ladeteil DB Valens

DV Ausgang

Abbildung 10: Mit Thermoelementen ausgestatteter Prototyp

Die Simulationsergebnisse wurden mit den experimentellen Messungen verglichen, die eine Diskrepanz von etwa 15 bis 25 % ergaben. (Abbildung 11) Eine solche Diskrepanz erscheint hoch, aber angesichts des hohen Abstraktionsniveaus erfüllten die Ergebnisse die Erwartungen.

Abbildung 11: Verifizierung der Simulation

Bei der Entwicklung wurde festgestellt, dass ein grösserer Lüfter in das Konzeptgerät integriert werden könnte, was eine weitere Optimierung des Wärmemanagements erlauben würde. Der Prototyp wurde kurzerhand angepasst, um die Wirkung eines grösseren Lüfters zu untersuchen. Da die Lüftersteuerung auf einen Betrieb mit niedriger und hoher Drehzahl ausgelegt ist, wurde auch dieser Parameter untersucht. (Abbildung 12)

Abbildung 12: Konzeptgerät mit kleinem und grossem Lüfter

Am wichtigsten war der Vergleich mit dem aktuellen Gerät, das als Benchmark verwendet wurde. Ein Vergleich der in beiden Geräten identischen Sensoren ergab, dass eine enorme Temperatursenkung für alle Sensorpositionen erreicht werden konnte. (Abbildung 13)

Interessanterweise erreicht das Konzeptgerät mit grossem Lüfter bei niedriger Drehzahl eine Leistung, die der Konfiguration mit kleinem Lüfter und hoher Drehzahl entspricht. Was die Geräuschemission anbelangt, ist dies für Kunden von entscheidender Bedeutung, da sich die Option mit dem grossen Lüfter als leiser erwies und gleichzeitig Spielraum für Extrembedingungen lässt.

Abbildung 13: Vergleich zwischen Konzeptgerät und Benchmark

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computational_fluid_dynamics

Zusammenfassung

Simulationen ermöglichen die Analyse von Produktentwürfen in einer sehr frühen Entwicklungsphase und verringern den Bedarf an Prototypen. Zusätzlich können physikalische Effekte sichtbar gemacht werden, die mit experimentellen Methoden nicht oder nur mit grossem Aufwand zu erkennen wären.

Dies führt zu einer sehr hohen Effizienz bei der Entwicklung neuer Produkte oder der Identifizierung von Schwachstellen in bestehenden Entwürfen und spart gleichzeitig wertvolle Ressourcen wie Zeit und Geld. Simulationen erleichtern zudem die Kommunikation zwischen verschiedenen Abteilungen oder Stakeholdern, um Anforderungen besser zu verstehen. Dies erleichtert die Entscheidungsfindung in entscheidenden Fragen… getreu dem Motto: «Keep cool»!

Sind Sie an weiteren Beiträgen interessiert?

Hinterlassen Sie hier Ihre E-Mail-Adresse und wir informieren Sie, sobald wir neue Beiträge veröffentlichen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

IMT Insight TDPM Valve
Lesedauer: 12 Min

Modellierung thermodynamischer Prozesse in Gassystemen

Modelle thermodynamischer Prozesse sind ein wichtiges Instrument in der Entwicklung von Regelkreisen...
IMT Teststände
Lesedauer: 6 Min

Entwicklung von (teil-)automatischen Testständen

Dieser Artikel befasst sich mit der Planung und Entwicklung von Produktionsprüfständen mit Fokus auf drei Aspekte...
IMT Embedded Bild
Lesedauer: 9 Min

Embedded Systeme – «von A bis Z»

Dieser Artikel erfasst die Grundlagen zum Thema Embedded Systeme, mit denen sich IMT seit 30 Jahren...
IMT CFD Simulation
Lesedauer: 5 Min

CFD-Simulation zur Verbesserung des Wärmemanagements

Das Wärmemanagement spielt im Hinblick auf die Robustheit, Sicherheit, Langlebigkeit und Leistungsfähigkeit von Geräten...
Mitarbeiter bei der Arbeit
Lesedauer: 5 Min

System- und Softwarearchitektur in Embedded Systems

Die Begriffe «System», «Design», «Architektur» sind bei der Entwicklung von eingebetteten Systemen oft nicht klar definiert...
Besprechung eines Projektes
Lesedauer: 4 Min

Modellbasierte Methoden in der Systementwicklung

Modellbasierte Methoden bieten reichlich Potential, um die Systementwicklung effektiv zu gestalten.