System- and Software Architecture in Embedded Systems

Matthias Künzi, Sales Manager Softwaretools, IMT DATAFLOW
Reading time: 5 min

Insight in Brief

  • The terms “system”, “design”, “architecture” are often not clearly defined in the development of embedded systems and are sometimes used interchangeably.
  • This article explains the definitions using graphics, and differentiates between the terms.
  • The differences between system design and software design are addressed in detail.

Introduction

Embedded “system design”, “system architecture”, “software architecture”, what exactly is behind these terms? What do they mean? What are the definitions? Why is it important to differentiate between these two terms?

This article deals with the answers to these questions.

The System

Here, we are dealing with technical systems, Or more specifically, with embedded systems. An embedded system is defined as follows:

“An embedded system is an electronic computer that is integrated (embedded) in a technical context. In this context, the computer either performs monitoring, control or regulating functions or is responsible for some form of data or signal processing, for example in locking or unlocking, encoding or decoding or filtering.”

Source: Wikipedia

Very similar to this definition (source https://www.embedded-software-engineering.de):

“An embedded system is a binary-valued digital system (also called a computer system) that is embedded in and interacts with a surrounding technical system. Here, the computer usually takes over monitoring, control or regulation functions, but is often also responsible for some form of data or signal processing.”

These definitions can be clarified with the following diagram:

Figure 1: General embedded system with the desired function/responsibility, surrounded by external systems and one or more users.

For the sake of simplicity, we usually simply refer to the “system” we are dealing with. Throughout the remainder of this article, we will often only refer to the “system”, which means the corresponding technical or embedded system.

Architecture and Design

In order to explain the terms, we must demonstrate how such a system is built. Figure 1 presents the embedded system as a black box. The structure of the system has not yet been defined. The components from which the system is to be built must be defined. This activity is known as “design”. A “system design” is therefore about defining and determining the system structure. Based on the diagram (Figure 2), the result of this design activity could look as follows:

Figure 2: Result (architecture) the first design iteration to define the components (architecture elements).

Design activities tend to be repetitive. This means that the components—referred to here as architectural elements—are decomposed until they are sufficiently defined. Only then can the creation (development) of the system begin.

The result of this design activity is called “architecture”. Figure 2 is therefore a first “system architecture” (strictly speaking, Figure 2 is a reference architecture of a general embedded system), although the term architecture still needs to be defined more precisely in this context. There is no single established definition of the term architecture. You can find a list of definitions here: https://resources.sei.cmu.edu/library/asset-view.cfm?assetid=513807. While these are definitions of software architecture, they also apply to the term system architecture. The distinction lies in the scope—more on this below.

 

We use the following definition of architecture (from “Software Architecture in Practice – Third Edition”):

 

Definition of (software) architecture:

“The (software) architecture of a system is the set of structures needed to reason about the system, which comprise (software) elements, relations among them, and properties of both.”

 

It contains the following 3 sentences:

  1. The architecture of a system is built from a set of structures.
  2. These are the structures needed to be able to infer the system.
  3. The structures include the elements, their relationships and their properties.

 

So, what does that mean?

The structures consist of the elements, their relationships and their properties. Architecture consists of structures, which are needed to ensure that the system behaves as required. The whole area of non-functional requirements is also meant here, in addition to the fulfillment of functional requirements. For example, requirements regarding further development usually influence the structure of the system. However, not all structures in a system belong to architecture. Not all structures are architecture-relevant. These structures are then no longer referred to as architecture, but as design.

 

Design” is on the one hand the activity that leads to an architecture (see above), and on the other hand the term for all non-architectural results of the design activity.

 

Many definitions simplify things by stating that the rough structure or the structures defined early in the design process are architecture. All later or more detailed structures are design. However, these definitions are insufficient, as more detailed structures may well be necessary to meet the required demands. Also, in agile development, not everything relevant is defined early in the design process.

 

System versus Software

Finally, the distinction between “system architecture” and “software architecture”: As already mentioned above, they differ in scope. The system architecture includes the structures of various system elements, such as hardware, software and mechanics. The software architecture, on the other hand, comprises the structures that define the structure of a software element (an element from the system architecture). This can be seen in the diagrams below:

Figure 3: System architecture diagram with hardware and software elements.

In the further decomposition of a software element, we eventually end up with the software architecture:

Figure 4: Software architecture diagram of software elements “Control Software”.

Summary

The most important terms and their definitions are summarized again in the following table:

Term Meaning, definition
Embedded system An embedded system is an electronic calculator or computer, which carries out a defined function and is embedded in a physical environment, is optionally surrounded by other subsystems and has an optional user interface.
Design (activity) The activity that defines how a system is built from several components (architecture elements).
System design (activity) See “Design”— with the specification that it is the design of a system, i.e. various elements such as hardware, software, mechanics.
Software design (activity) See “Design”— with the specification that it is the design of a software (software elements).
Architecture The architecture of a system is the set of structures needed to infer the system, or to ensure that the system satisfies the required properties. The structures include the elements, their relationships and their properties.
The design The structures which, in addition to the architecture-relevant structures (see “Architecture”), also define the structure of the system, but which are not relevant for the required system properties.
The system architecture See “Architecture”— with the specification that it is the design of a system, i.e. various elements such as hardware, software, mechanics.
The software architecture See “Architecture”— with the specification that it is the design of a software (software elements).

Tab. 1: Terms and their meaning/definition

Are you interested in reading further articles?

Leave your e-mail address here and we will inform you as soon as we publish new contributions.

This might also interest you

Outsourcing
Reading time: 3 min.

Ensuring successful outsourced engineering projects

How do you ensure success of your outsourced engineering project from the start?
Usability study for medical devices
Reading time: 3 min.

Usability study for medical devices

Preventing safety related use-errors or harm to the user using usability studies.
Event-based
Reading time: 4 min.

Why event-based software architecture?

This article explains the event-based software architecture, its advantages, & possible disadvantages for the development...
Expert Blog Architekturprozess
Reading time: 4 min.

The systematic creation of a system and software architecture

This article deals with the development of a good system architecture...
IMT_AdditiveFertigung_Blog
Reading time: 5 min.

Additive manufacturing - reliable enough for medical technology?

For a customer's device, a dynamically rotating system was developed within a short period of time...
knowwhatyoudonwknow_cover
Reading time: 4 min.

Know what you don't know

Typical classification algorithms assign a class to every sample, even though that sample may be far off...

System- und Softwarearchitektur in Embedded Systems

Matthias Künzi, Sales Manager Softwaretools, IMT DATAFLOW
Lesedauer: 5 min.

Insight in Brief

Die Begriffe «System», «Design», «Architektur» sind bei der Entwicklung von eingebetteten Systemen oft nicht klar definiert und werden manchmal miteinander verwechselt.

  • Dieser Artikel erklärt die Definitionen, stellt sie grafisch dar und grenzt die Begriffe klar voneinander ab.
  • Auf die Unterschiede zwischen Systemdesign und Softwaredesign wird explizit eingegangen.

Einleitung

Embedded «Systemdesign», «Systemarchitektur», «Softwarearchitektur», was steckt genau hinter diesen Begriffen? Was ist damit gemeint? Was sind die Definitionen? Warum ist es wichtig, diese Begriffe zu unterscheiden?

Mit den Antworten auf diese Fragen beschäftigt sich dieser Artikel.

Das System

Wir beschäftigen uns hier mit technischen Systemen. Noch etwas spezifischer mit Embedded-Systemen. Ein Embedded-System, auf Deutsch ein «eingebettetes System» ist wie folgt definiert:

«Ein eingebettetes System ist ein elektronischer Rechner oder auch Computer, der in einen technischen Kontext eingebunden (eingebettet) ist. Dabei übernimmt der Rechner entweder Überwachungs-, Steuerungs- oder Regelfunktionen oder ist für eine Form der Daten- bzw. Signalverarbeitung zuständig, beispielsweise beim Ver- bzw. Entschlüsseln, Codieren bzw. Decodieren oder Filtern.»

Quelle: Wikipedia

Ganz ähnlich diese Definition (Quelle https://www.embedded-software-engineering.de):

«Ein eingebettetes System ist ein binärwertiges digitales System (auch Computersystem genannt), das in ein umgebendes technisches System eingebettet ist und mit diesem in Wechselwirkung steht. Dabei übernimmt der Rechner meist Überwachungs-, Steuerungs- oder Regelungsfunktionen, ist oft aber auch für eine Form der Daten- bzw. Signalverarbeitung zuständig.»

Diese Definitionen können mit dem folgenden Diagramm verdeutlicht werden:

Abbildung 1: Allgemeines Embedded-System mit der gewünschten Funktion/Verantwortung, umgeben von externen Systemen und einem oder mehreren Benutzern.

Der Einfachheitshalber wird meist einfach von dem «System» gesprochen mit welchem man sich befasst. Auch im Rest dieses Artikels wird häufig nur noch von «System» gesprochen und damit ist das entsprechende technische oder eben das Embedded-System gemein.

 

Architektur und Design

Um die Begriffe zu erklären, muss aufgezeigt werden, wie ein solches System gebaut wird. Abbildung 1 stellt das Embedded-System als Blackbox dar. Der Aufbau des Systems ist noch nicht definiert. Es muss definiert werden, aus welchen Bestandteilen das System aufgebaut werden soll. Diese Tätigkeit nennt man «Design». Bei einem «Systemdesign» geht es also um die Definition und Festlegung des Systemaufbaus. Das Resultat einer solchen Designtätigkeit könnte dann, basierend auf dem Diagramm (Abbildung 2), wie folgt aussehen:

Abbildung 2: Resultat (Architektur) der ersten Design-Iteration zur Definition der Bestandteile (Architekturelemente).

Meist läuft eine solche Design-Tätigkeit iterativ ab. Das heisst die Bestandteile – man spricht hier von Architekturelementen – werden soweit zerlegt (engl. «decompose»), bis diese genügend definiert sind. Erst dann kann die Erstellung (Entwicklung) des Systems beginnen.

Das Resultat dieser Design-Aktivität nenn man «Architektur». Die Abbildung 2 ist also eine erste «Systemarchitektur» (genau genommen ist die Abbildung 2 eine Referenzarchitektur eines allgemeinen Embedded-Systems), wobei der Begriff Architektur in diesem Zusammenhang noch genauer definiert werden muss. Es gibt nicht eine einzige etablierte Definition des Architekturbegriffes. Eine Sammlung von Definitionen findet man hier: https://resources.sei.cmu.edu/library/asset-view.cfm?assetid=513807. Dies sind zwar Definitionen für Softwarearchitektur, sie gelten jedoch auch für den Begriff der System-Architektur. Die Unterscheidung liegt im Anwendungsbereich (engl. Scope) – dazu aber weiter unten noch mehr.

Wir verwenden die folgende Definition des Architekturbegriffes (aus «Software Architecture in Practice – Third Edition»):

Definition (Software-) Architektur:

«The (software) architecture of a system is the set of structures needed to reason about the system, which comprise (software) elements, relations among them, and properties of both. »

Darin sind die folgenden 3 Sätze enthalten, hier in Übersetzung:

  1. Die Architektur eines Systems ist aus einer Menge von Strukturen aufgebaut.
  2. Es sind die Strukturen, welche benötigt werden, um auf das System schliessen zu können.
  3. Die Strukturen umfassen die Elemente, deren Beziehungen und deren Eigenschaften.

 

Was bedeutet das nun?

Die Strukturen bestehen aus Elementen, deren Beziehungen und deren Eigenschaften. Architektur besteht aus den Strukturen, welche benötigt werden, um sicherzustellen, dass sich das System wie gefordert verhält. Wobei hier nicht nur die Erfüllung der funktionalen Anforderungen gemeint ist, sondern auch der ganze Bereich der nicht-funktionalen Anforderungen. Beispielsweise haben Forderungen bezüglich Weiterentwickelbarkeit meist Einfluss auf die Struktur des Systems. Es gehören jedoch nicht alle Strukturen eines Systems zur Architektur. Nicht alle Strukturen sind architekturrelevant. Man spricht bei diesen Strukturen dann nicht mehr von Architektur, sondern von Design.

«Design» ist einerseits die Tätigkeit, welche zu einer Architektur führt (siehe weiter oben), als auch der Begriff für sämtliche nicht architekturrelevanten Resultate aus der Designtätigkeit.

Viele Definitionen machen sich das einfacher, indem sie ausführen, dass die Grobstruktur oder die früh im Designprozess definierten Strukturen Architektur sind. Alle späteren oder detaillierteren Strukturen sind Design. Diese Definitionen sind allerdings unzureichend, da durchaus detailliertere Strukturen notwendig sein können, um die geforderten Anforderungen zu erfüllen. Auch wird in einer agilen Entwicklung nicht alles Relevante schon früh im Designprozess definiert.

 

System versus Software

Zuletzt noch die Unterscheidung zwischen «Systemarchitektur» und «Softwarearchitektur»: Wie bereits weiter oben aufgeführt, unterscheiden sich diese im Anwendungsbereich (Scope). Die Systemarchitektur umfasst die Strukturen von verschiedenen Systemelementen, wie Hardware, Software, Mechanik. Die Softwarearchitektur hingegen umfasst die Strukturen, welche den Aufbau eines Softwareelementes (ein Element aus der Systemarchitektur) definieren. Dies ist in den nachfolgenden Diagrammen ersichtlich:

Abbildung 3: Systemarchitektur-Diagramm mit Hard- und Softwareelementen.

Bei der weiterführenden Zerlegung eines Softwareelementes landen wir schlussendlich bei der Softwarearchitektur:

Abbildung 4: Softwarearchitektur-Diagramm des Softwareelementes «Control Software».

Zusammenfassung

In der nachfolgenden Tabelle sind die wichtigsten Begriffe und deren Bedeutung bzw. Definitionen nochmals zusammenfassend aufgeführt:

 

Begriff Bedeutung, Definition
Embedded System Ein Embedded-System (deutsch: eingebettetes System) ist ein elektronischer Rechner oder Computer, der eine definierte Funktion ausführt und in eine physikalische Umgebung eingebunden ist, optional von anderen Umsystemen umgeben ist sowie optional eine Benutzerschnittstelle aufweist.
Design (Tätigkeit) Ist die Tätigkeit, welche definiert, wie ein System aus mehreren Bestandteilen (Architekturelementen) aufgebaut ist.
System-Design (Tätigkeit) Siehe «Design» – mit der Präzisierung, dass es sich um das Design eines Systems, d.h. um verschiedene Elemente wie Hardware, Software, Mechanik handelt.
Software-Design (Tätigkeit) Siehe «Design» – mit der Präzisierung, dass es sich um das Design einer Software (eines Softwareelementes) handelt.
Die Architektur Die Architektur eines Systems ist die Menge von Strukturen, welche benötigt werden, um auf das System schliessen zu können, bzw., um sicherzustellen, dass das System die geforderten Eigenschaften erfüllt. Die Strukturen umfassen die Elemente, deren Beziehungen und deren Eigenschaften.
Das Design Die Strukturen, welche neben den architekturrelevanten Strukturen (siehe «Architektur») zwar auch den Aufbau des Systems definieren, welche für die geforderten Systemeigenschaften allerdings nicht relevant sind.
Die System-Architektur Siehe «Architektur» – mit der Präzisierung, dass es sich um das Design eines Systems d.h. um verschiedene Elemente wie Hardware, Software, Mechanik handelt.
Die Software-Architektur Siehe «Architektur» – mit der Präzisierung, dass es sich um das Design einer Software (eines Softwareelementes) handelt.

Tabelle  1: Begriffe und deren Bedeutung bzw. Definition

Sind Sie an weiteren Beiträgen interessiert?

Hinterlassen Sie hier Ihre E-Mail-Adresse und wir informieren Sie, sobald wir neue Beiträge veröffentlichen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

IMT Insight TDPM Valve
Lesedauer: 12 Min

Modellierung thermodynamischer Prozesse in Gassystemen

Modelle thermodynamischer Prozesse sind ein wichtiges Instrument in der Entwicklung von Regelkreisen...
IMT Teststände
Lesedauer: 6 Min

Entwicklung von (teil-)automatischen Testständen

Dieser Artikel befasst sich mit der Planung und Entwicklung von Produktionsprüfständen mit Fokus auf drei Aspekte...
IMT Embedded Bild
Lesedauer: 9 Min

Embedded Systeme – «von A bis Z»

Dieser Artikel erfasst die Grundlagen zum Thema Embedded Systeme, mit denen sich IMT seit 30 Jahren...
IMT CFD Simulation
Lesedauer: 5 Min

CFD-Simulation zur Verbesserung des Wärmemanagements

Das Wärmemanagement spielt im Hinblick auf die Robustheit, Sicherheit, Langlebigkeit und Leistungsfähigkeit von Geräten...
Mitarbeiter bei der Arbeit
Lesedauer: 5 Min

System- und Softwarearchitektur in Embedded Systems

Die Begriffe «System», «Design», «Architektur» sind bei der Entwicklung von eingebetteten Systemen oft nicht klar definiert...
Besprechung eines Projektes
Lesedauer: 4 Min

Modellbasierte Methoden in der Systementwicklung

Modellbasierte Methoden bieten reichlich Potential, um die Systementwicklung effektiv zu gestalten.